Rate My Beatles Books: a critical appraisal of a unique private collection (part 1)

Ad's Vinyl Adventures

DSC02384 (2)

When asked once to divulge my favourite Beatles book, I decided that I would do much better than that. I decided to present an illustrated breakdown of all 30-plus Beatles titles that I have acquired, in order of purchase, detailing the circumstances of their acquisition, their author, title, publisher and date of first publication, together with my all-important personal star rating, while providing, as often as possible, a brief explanation of their individual significance – for me and for the world. Here is the result!

1. Mark Lewisohn: The Complete Beatles Recording Sessions (London: Hamlyn, 1988). Purchased at Waterstone’s, Birmingham, 1989.

5-star-rating  This is the book that set the ball rolling for me, written by the absolute master of Beatles chronology and historical detail. I bought it with my own unearned money when I was 17 or so, while Beatles-Complete-Recording-Sessions-Lewisohn[1]studying at sixth-form college. I specifically remember seeing Jason Donovan tell Alan Titchmarsh how much he enjoyed the…

View original post 1,356 more words

Leave a Reply

